Dysfunctional Money

 

For most of my life I have had a relationship with money  that has not been entirely healthy. In fact, being honest, it has been completely dysfunctional. You know, like that toxic relationship that you knew you should have left years ago but, you didn’t.  The thing with money is that you can’t really abandon it.  You could live off the grid I suppose but that’s not viable for most of us.  So we rub along.  Sometimes despairing, sometimes accepting and then, some times are good.  I’ve spent a lot of time (and money) researching Money and how to handle it and exploring my relationship with it.  I think I’ve just about reached a compromise where, if I don’t give money any grief, it doesn’t give me any.  It seems to be working.

A couple of books that have really helped are “Your Money or Your Life” by Vicki Robin and Joe Dominguez  (http://vickirobin.com/books/your-money-or-your-life/ )and “Money: a Love Story” by Kate Northrup  (http://katenorthrup.com/)

A few months ago I started budgeting.  Really doing it.  In advance.  Previously, I’d just monitored where my money had gone but, by then, it was too late.  It was spent. Over-spent.  I had no grip on it all.  It fizzed in my purse and my credit cards howled to be allowed out to play.

Luckily, I discovered YNAB (You Need a Budget) (https://www.youneedabudget.com/ ) which works a treat and, if I don’t use my credit cards, all is well and peace reigns.  I can, of course, use my credit cards if the expenditure is budgeted.  I can relax.  My money knows what jobs it has to do until the next time there’s some income.  All is well.  My income nowadays is mainly my State Pension so I am talking about Being Very Careful.  It can be done.  Harmony.  Better late than never!

I watched a webcast the other day with Kate Northrup and Sarah Jenks  “The Truth About Your Belly Fat & Bank Account”.  They talked about the parallel issues around Money and Food.  This has been debated by many, elsewhere, and that’s another big topic for another day!

(By the way, the links I’ve provided are not sponsored and will not add to my income – they are just my recommendations.)

2 comments

  1. Wow – super impressed. This way harmony lies (although I wish we could budget to go to Monaco this weekend …………….. )
    Jill xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

